University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


Liddell Honored at Salute to Service Celebration

Renee Harbers Liddell '85

Renee Harbers Liddell '85

On Monday, November 16, College of Engineering alumna Renee Harbers Liddell ’85 will be one of the three UMass graduates honored during the annual Salute to Service dinner at the Boston Harbor Hotel. The celebratory reception begins at 5:30 p.m., while the dinner starts at 6:30 p.m.

Liddell is the founder and CEO of the Harbers Family Foundation, where she works with the best filmmakers in the world to give visual voice to the most important ideas of our time, telling diverse stories that challenge our sensibilities and unite us in our humanity. Since achieving success as an early employee of Microsoft, Liddell has focused her efforts on giving back with the gift of stories that enhance the efforts of people working to make the world a better place. Liddell holds a bachelor of science in engineering from the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Visit the Salute to Service website

For more than 150 years the University of Massachusetts has emphasized public service as critical to the development of our commonwealth, the nation, and the world. The quest to understand the myriad issues facing society has underscored the university’s curriculum, resources, and community service.

As the flagship public university in Massachusetts, UMass Amherst embraces its role of providing educational opportunity to the future leaders of America. As a result of this enduring commitment, the Salute to Service Scholarship Fund has been established to support the talents and aspirations of select recipients in pursuing and realizing their public service goals.

The other Salute to Service honorees are legacy award winner John Legere ’80, the president and CEO of T-Mobile US, and Charles F. Desmond ’92, former chair of the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education. The program emcee will be Steve Buckley ’78, Boston Herald sports columnist and host of Press Box. (November 2015)